October

After the keen still days of September, the October sun filled the world with mellow warmth…The maple tree in front of the doorstep burned like a gigantic red torch. The oaks along the roadway glowed yellow and bronze. The fields stretched like a carpet of jewels, emerald and topaz and garnet. Everywhere she walked the color shouted and sang around her…In October any wonderful unexpected thing might be possible.

― Elizabeth George Speare, The Witch of Blackbird Pond

october light

I shot this photo with my iPhone just before crawling out of bed the other day.  For me, mornings around here include getting up around 6 or 6:30 to pack lunches, make sure the boys eat breakfast, sign papers, and get them to the bus on time.

Sometimes, I crawl back into bed. Sometimes, I’m just not ready to face the day quite yet. Sometimes I drink coffee, check my social media and call my mother from my bed.

Sometimes you have to just be thankful you woke up to see the sunshine another day.

Sometimes you have to really open your eyes and notice the wonderful, unexpected things.

Leave a Reply

