How Sweet It Is

Here, in Iowa, we do corn. It’s just the way it is.

We also drive John Deere, Chevy’s and bleed black and gold.

I can count on one hand how many times someone has said “Oh, yeah POTATOES!!” midconversation.  It’s only one hand, but I pretty much shake my head in disbelief while kindly correcting their horrific geographical error. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve never met a potato I didn’t like, but they don’t hold a candle to a rich, buttery, salty ear of Iowa sweetcorn. It just doesn’t get any better than that!

Once the word is out that sweetcorn is ready it’s roadside stands and lines a mile long just to get a dozen. Not that it isn’t in abundance, but many of us freeze it or can it so we can still enjoy it through the off season. It’s really only available for a month or two if it’s a good crop.  Come visit sometime, I’ll make sure you get your fill!

This summer I took this photo of my 9-year-old taking his first bite of the season. I’m pretty sure we all make the same scrunchy face. It’s the “It’s-hot-but-OMG-so-yummy” face.

I finally got it off my phone and when I came across the state of Iowa cut file from the Cut Shoppe I knew it was meant to be. I think one of the things that makes me love this photo – is the chomper teeth on his t-shirt. How appropriate!

(As far as products used… I used bits and pieces of this and that from my stash. There’s a little Amy Tan Plus One, a little piece from Alison Kreft, and a few sequins from Lawn Fawn which I’m totally addicted to because they are matte!)

#iowa #gohawks!

Leave a Reply

